Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Jesse needs critique !

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
JesseHenaoMonroy polycounter lvl 6

Hey polycounters !

I rarely post but i'm at a point where I feel like I need to open up.

I've been practicing digital art (both 3D & 2D) for the past 6 years, I work professionally in the games industry (doing 3D and rough 2D for a big French company) but I want to make the shift to be a full-time illustrator/concept-artist.

For that, I am well aware that I need to focus on my 2D art, but unfortunately I never seem to get any feedbacks/critiques on my pieces. And that's really tough since i'm pretty sure a great way of improving is by hearing what people who have master the craft have to say about my art !

So yeah this is a new and hopeful attempt at getting help going forward!

Here's the latest piece I worked on, she's the main character of a short story i'm writing at the moment.

I would LOVE some advice that I could take into account for the next painting, especially that she's gonna be the protagonist again.

Thanks a lot everyone! ♥

Replies

• Eric Chadwick

This is looking really nice!

The first thing that catches my eye is the lack of bounce lighting on her darker forms, which makes it hard to understand her pose, and thus hard to get a sense of what she's doing.

Her right upper arm from elbow to shoulder is almost invisible. And her ribcage and upper leg have the same problem. Lack of lighting means lack of shape, which makes it difficulty to read. Where is her left arm?

She seems to be floating underwater, given the pose, lack of support under her, suggestion of bubbles, and the way her hair is lacking gravity or a wind direction. But it's not very obvious, so she could be in a dream, or she could be falling off a cliff, or drifting weightless in space. It's difficult to get a sense of the narrative behind where she is and what she's doing.