Home Technical Talk

Brand new artist, practice tips wanted

I’m brand new to sculpting with 10 hours of experience and 2 polymodeling practices and 1 sculpt practice. I’m wondering how to “practice correctly”.

What I’m wondering is should I focus on strictly sculpting floating heads every time I sit down to practice as a complete beginner or should I try varying pieces of a head such as making eyes, lips, noses, etc? Is it bad to focus on heads as a brand new artist? Should I also try to sculpt creatures or bodies or animals or random objects and make dedicated times to practice a variety of subjects?

what are some best practice tips you can offer to someone with mere hours of experience?

Replies

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter

10 hours man, just chill and look what's fun to you. What you need is repetition and experience, this early it doesn't matter if you get that from just doing pieces of the head or whole heads.

• Kanni3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master

You sound like an overthinker like myself 😁

What @Neox said, just sculpt whats fun and enjoy the process since you're extremely new to it, and don't overthink about what you must grind on so early. Once you get to a stage after completing a few projects, you can really identify what your strengths/weaknesses are, and then that would lead you to your answer of what you would need to practice.

• kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage