Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback on Portfolio for 3d Artist(beginner).

SauravP
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
SauravP polycounter lvl 3

Hello everyone,

I am a 3d artist trying to specialize and get into the gaming industry as a junior environments/ prop artist, but i feel like my portfolio is lacking something and dont really know what that could be. So, please do give any and all kinds of feedback and critique from a hiring point of view, so as to get a better understanding of what I am lacking.

Portfolio link; https://www.artstation.com/sauravpalliyil

Also,

1. Is it always necessary to have finished environments or can WIP works be added as well?
  2. Can practice works be added into portfolio as well especially for artists trying to break into the industry?
  3. I do find it really hard to choose/decide concepts to work on, so could I get some advice on that aspect as well?

Thank you all for your help.

Replies

• JohannesAg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohannesAg greentooth
    1. I wouldn't put wips in your portfolio personally, it doesn't have to be a full environment though, can be just a single well made prop or a diorama if you wanna do multiple assets. Remember quality over quantity always, better to have one really nice project rather than ten okay ones.
    2. not sure what you mean by practise works, if you mean sketches then I would say no personally but you could put that stuff in a blog post or something if you wanna share it.
    3. honestly just pick stuff that you are excited to work on and reflects the type of work you wanna be hired to do. If you do a single hero asset I would recommend something slightly complicated that can have interesting textures as well. Doesn't hurt to pick something fairly unique if you can, people have seen enough fire hydrants and ak-47's to last a lifetime :P