Home Career & Education

Importance of mentorship for starting out in game art?

Hey all,

I'm a 3D artist who'll be graduating from uni soon, and the search for my first job has me extremely stressed. I'm in the boat where I feel like I'm doing everything on my own, from deciding what to learn, what to work on, where to apply, how to setup my portfolio, how to market myself etc etc. I really want to improve my art and get that first job, but I have no idea how to properly go about doing it.

I hear online about people who have gone through mentorship programs, and to me that seems like a really helpful way to get an outside perspective from someone who knows the industry, and be able to refocus and really nail down this first year of my career.

It's hard to find info about mentorships overall online, so I'm wondering for those of you who have landed that first job already, did you do a mentorship program? Was it helpful? Would you consider it necessary/strongly advisable? What are the best ways to find one?

Sorry this is kind of broad, I'm just now getting into the job app process, getting rejections and it's pretty overwhelming. I'm trying to decide on doing something new to help me break into the industry, whether that's a mentorship, a course like CGMA, or something else. Currently out of all the people I talk to even semi-regularly, I'm the one who knows the most about this field, which is pretty frightening lmao. Any and all advice would be much appreciated!

Replies

• Larry
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator