Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback on Portfolio

Hello,
I am currently a student in game art 3rd year Bachelor degree, currently looking into schools to strengthen my skills and aiming to become a Character design or Concept artist (not quite sure which one yet), and i wanna focus on working as a Pixel artist too.

Here is a link to my Portfolio : https://mjcpixel.wixsite.com/portfolio
It has my resume on the main page, I wanted to get some feedback on how it looks, how the works are organized...

Thanks to anyone who responds :)

Edit : Just as a PSA the website is not yet done for Mobile devices so if possible look at it on a computer

Replies

• TravisBolek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TravisBolek polycounter lvl 16
    You have some good stuff there!

If this website is going to be used for employment purposes then you should make sure that the home page shows off your artwork. Maybe have it where the different categories (e.g. Characters, Environment, etc) are selectable images on the home page. Or just have the categories right there. So you have Characters, followed by thumbnails, and when selected or hovered over, they show the full size.

You really don't want employers to click around your site. They go through a lot of portfolios and you need to grab their attention.

Also, scrap most of the work on there and only leave the best. You only need a few (like 4 or 5 or something) of your best pieces of work.

I would also scrap the Traditional and Additional Works parts. If there is any stand out pieces there that can be incorporated into your existing Character and Environment parts, then do it!

In the Characters tab, I like the chibi female character with a breakdown of emotions. However, you have two of them. There are some different sketches in there for sure, but scrap one and condense the emotion breakdown sketches to the best and that are contrasting from each other.