Home Career & Education

What should I charge as an hourly fee for my 3d models?

I'm, what I would say a low-mid level 3d modeler. I don't work with texturing and just make some more basic models (Some models are attached) . I'm wondering how much I should be charging per hour for my models? As I said I am fairly new to 3d modeling, I first started 3d modeling around October of 2019 and was doing it on and off until about September 2020, when I really started to get into it.

I do understand that pricing is not the same for everyone, but at least a baseline would be nice.
The model below took about 19 hours of work.
The model has an overall tris count of 1 940 778 (1 424 430 without the lights that I still need to optimize)

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    modelling is a skilled trade, as a freelancer you should charge a similar amount for your time that a skilled tradesperson would. 

a painter/decorator might be a good reference.  
  • Migitino
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    (Ignore this, meant to reply to poopipe)
  • Migitino
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe said:
    modelling is a skilled trade, as a freelancer you should charge a similar amount for your time that a skilled tradesperson would. 

a painter/decorator might be a good reference.  
    ~ $20 CAD/hour is what I'm seeing for a painter in Canada, however it seems high (at least to me) for a 3d model that took me 19 hours. That would put this model at about 400 CAD. idk to me it seems a little high.

Thanks for the insight though!
  • lluc21
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lluc21 polycounter lvl 5