Home Career & Education

How can I stay motivated?

node
Offline / Send Message
Wrenger node
I've been modelling for around 6 months and all I can make is things like

And often I go look at other people's work and I see things like

The chair and the desk were also textured with trim sheets And so were the books and scrolls
And every time it happens I just want to quit. I don't think I will ever be able to reach that level... I don't have the creativity, I don't have the skill, I can't even draw for the life of me, so how am I going to come up with such designs?.. How will I ever get a 3d modelling job if I will never get remotely close to these people's work? I've been told to just keep modelling but I don't know how to stay motivated to do so.. I don't know how to improve my creativity..
Did you ever have to deal with this? If so, how did you get over it? How much time did it take you to get to a level, where you can confidently say "Yea, it's good."

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    you work is fine for 6 months of practice. 

The artwork you posted from other people definitely wasn't made by a six month noob. And really the only difference is just how much extra time they put into it. Yours isn't that far away. 

Just don't quit. If you feeling down its most likely cause you need sunlight and exercise. Too long looking at screen kills the soul.
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Also want to point out that all chances are the artists you posted also can't draw particularly well and 9-times-out-of-10 they didn't design those complex weapons. 3D artists tend to work off concept art provided to them so many people practice with friends or concept art they find online. You're not a concept artist, so of course you can't just come up with a design like that. :) Different specialties.