Home Unreal Engine

Deconstructing foliage shader from Rural Australia pack, question about packed texture

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
Hi, I am studying the Rural Australia package and can't figure out how a texture channel has been packed and is being used. 

The Blue channel in the Normals texture sample:

The comment suggest that two value ranges are being read somehow? 

(below image) This is where the Blue channel leads. It looks like a little math is done to derive something useful. I can just punch in some values and make use of the shader, but if anybody can explain in simple terms what is being done here that would be awesome. 

I did contact the author but he hasn't responded so far, if he does I'll pass on any info here. 

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Actually, just got answered: 

from the author:

Hi!

There's a need to pack textures as tightly as possible in order to have as few texture fetches in shaders and less (texture) memory. There is a trad-eoff with quality however, some textures need high quality, and others don't. Normal maps typically need high quality as pixellation can otherwise be quite noticeable in the final result. Depending on your texture format, it also matters which channel you pack your textures in to. Regular DTX compression generally deteriorates the blue channel more than others, however other formats such as BC7 usually distribute the quality across channels evenly, at a higher cost. SSS and Roughness are 2 textures that don't really need high quality for a good end result, which is why I have packed both of those in to a single channel, and instead of using the full 0-255 range of the channel for one, i have split the range into 2, 1 for each texture. 0-128, and 129-255. This obviously reduces quality of each, but is barely noticeable in the end result.