Home Career & Education

Is it okay to have weapons as part of portfolio of 3d environment artist?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Oblivion2500 polycounter lvl 6
I'm a 3d environment artist and I'm currently working on my portfolio (https://olliverpetkac.artstation.com/ ). I'm working towards smaller projects with more focus on quality and high detail. One feedback I got was that it's not a bad idea to have a high-quality prop in my portfolio as well. I was wondering if having a weapon is okay? I know that there are weapon designers but I love making weapons. It's sort of a prop...

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yeah for sure man :)
  • sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Yes.

Weapons encapsulate an hard surface discipline throughout all phases of the creation process. Also I think worthwhile, is to research established artists like Tim Bergholz, JL Mussi...etc in order to examine their individual methology generating these particular objects.
  • Zi0
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter
    Yes, you can also make a weapon that can also be used as a prop, a turret for instance.
  • Ex-Ray
    Offline / Send Message
    Ex-Ray polycounter lvl 12
    In the context of your other threads and current portfolio I would advise against it. I would recommend spending your time and effort on a environmental hero piece that supported your environmental work. The hero piece becomes the focal point and direction for lighting, composition, layout, set dressing etc.

Think:
    - Ornate fountain/statue in a courtyard.
    - Grandfather clock in a manor house.
    - The main computer terminal in a nuclear bunker.
    - Jukebox in a diner
    - Old typewriter in an abandoned house.

So you have a hero asset and an environment and you showcase both.