Home General Discussion

Newbie fancying trying some scenic modelling

oo19s
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
oo19s polycounter lvl 2
Hi,
I would like to try my hand at creating some scenic modelling. Some landscapes with maybe the smallest amount of motion.
For example, maybe a Jurassic Park type landscape with some trees moving/rustling with a the sound of a T-Rex in the background, or a Star Wars galactic scene with the odd spacecraft whizzing by and the sound of lasers shouting away. As I grow confident, I would like to expand these short clips in something longer, or maybe loop the same clip.

I am a complete newbie so I would like some help being put in the right direction. To achieve what I am hoping to do, do I require different types of software or would a 3D modelling software be sufficient?
I've come across articles that mention 3D Concept, Photoshop, Blender, Final Cut Pro, After Effects. I'm just wondering what the recommendation would be. I hear Blender is very good and it's free - which is a bonus.

As for the training, could anyone suggest some training videos. For example, Udemy have some courses but I'm not sure if they would be relevant for my aim (I think they would be, though). Does anyone recommend one of these?
https://www.udemy.com/course/blendertutorial/
https://www.udemy.com/course/blender-environments/?ranMID=39197&ranEAID=*IbDNxAPXZU&ranSiteID=.IbDNxAPXZU-OA94eM63XqASArvru83a3w&utm_source=aff-campaign&LSNPUBID=*IbDNxAPXZU&utm_medium=udemyads

Finally, the computer I have is a DELL Inspiron 15 5567 Core i7-7500U @ 2.7Ghz with 16Gb DDR4 RAM and a Radeon 7 2Gb RAM GPU. Is this powerful enough to handle the suggested software?  I'd rather not pay out for a another computer. This is just something for me to dabble in so I'm hoping my computer is sufficient and that Blender, being free, is just the ticket??