Home Career & Education

Portfolio feedback and career advice needed.

JavierHR
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
JavierHR polycounter lvl 4
Hello there! I have been in this forum for some time but I have never published anything. I hope you can help me.

I am trying to prepare a good portfolio for a 3D props/environment artist position. If you don't mind, I'll say a bit about my career till now. I studied an engineering in product design to later get into an online master's degree in 3D Characters. It was mostly focused on working for the film industry but they taught me the basics. After that I got a job in a real state because I needed the money but had very little time to make 3D stuff and I almost forgot everything. I ended up leaving after a year because I didn't want this knowledge to go to waste after so much time (and money) invested. After that I did an online course in which I learned to do props for videogames in part to remember everything and in part to expand my knowledge.I enjoyed it very much. After that I have had some interviews but they either never got in contact again, said that I was welcome to try again in the future or said that they saw potential in me (seems that I am a jedi) during the interview and never got in contact again. So here I am now. Thank you for bearing with this piece of lore.

This is my portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/javierhr 

And here are my questions:

1.  What do you think about my portfolio? Also, I am learning as I am preparing it but I see myself lacking in the environment part and I don't know if what I have now is hurting my portfolio rather than improving it. 

2. What do you think I need to improve and/or learn to be hireable? I am currently following a tutorial about modular modeling and evironment creation in UE4 and learning to use substance designer.