Home Technical Talk

Texture resolution in bigger game assets?

Hello, I am making some assets for a game. I am still very new to this and I have run into some problems regarding the uv maps. I am not sure I'm doing this correctly. My assets are on the larger scale, height or width being usually around 3-4m. I try to keep the texel density at 10.24 with a 2k texture but  can't fit my object in the uv space this way so for some objects I made multiple uv sets (udims?) and for one of them I have used a 4k texture. Of course the final textures will be lowered if they look fine but I am afraid it might cause a problem in unreal engine? especially the multiple texture sets. I can't repeat a lot of my texture because the objects need to have dirt/rust and I don't want to it look too symmetrical so I have to use separate uv shells.
Thank you in advance.

Replies

• Kanni3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    Uniquely baked/textured assets can only be so large before you run into a texel density issue - depending on what the asset it, and how it's used, look into using procedural/tileable materials, or if you must, multiple UVs/material IDs to bring your texel density inline. 
  • PolyHertz
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    For very large assets you blend between several tiled materials using vertex colors, and project details using deferred decals.
  • wandering_snail
    Kanni3d said:
    Uniquely baked/textured assets can only be so large before you run into a texel density issue - depending on what the asset it, and how it's used, look into using procedural/tileable materials, or if you must, multiple UVs/material IDs to bring your texel density inline. 
    I don't think they are large enough to tile them. What do you mean by multiple UVs/material IDs? That's what I don't understand. Is that different from having multiple uv sets? They are not huge assets but the are maybe two times the size of a person.
  • rexo12