Home Career & Education

I'm an 3D Real-Time Environment Artist looking for first 3D job. Portfolio & Resume Tips and Advice?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Oblivion2500 polycounter lvl 6
I'm a real-time 3D environment game artist. I'm looking to get my first job (entry/associate) in 3D. I want to work for the gaming industry. You can read more about my story in this thread from a few months ago (https://polycount.com/discussion/224252/advice-for-looking-for-job-in-gaming-industry-after-big-life-event#latest ).

I'm almost finished with my portfolio. I'm currently finishing up a project and I'm planning on doing a smaller environment project later this month as well as props projects such as hard-surface modeling and photogrammetry projects using Maya and Substance Painter. Some may be done with Quixel Suite. The majority of my project are in UE4. So in my portfolio site (by ArtStation), I will have my 4 best projects and in my ArtStation profile, I will also have everything else such as older projects, etc. I have some questions as I complete my portfolio and start looking for a job. 
  1. Does it help to have concept art in your portfolio or as a separate page? or no? Maybe just have some in the ArtStation profile instead of the portfolio website? They're alright, not amazing or anything. 
  2. What about Game Design work? Level Design work? Game Mods? I want to eventually become a level designer and then a game designer. 
  3. What about a resume? Keep it one page, correct?
  4. Does it help to have a blog on the website? Talking about 3D art techniques, current projects, game art & design?
  5. Do employers look just at your ArtStation portfolio site or do they also look at the ArtStation profile as well?
  6. Is a demo reel necessary? I find them to be kind of useless and a waste of time.