Home Career & Education

Bachelors Degree for aspiring 3D environment artist in Brisbane, Australia

Hi all, I am an aspiring 3D environment artist based in Brisbane, Australia and currently I am enrolled at QUT in a Bachelors of Fine Arts course majoring in animation. I am worried that maybe this course isn't right for me as only a quarter of it seems relevant to what I want to do when I am working professionally. Obviously a course isn't going to be specifically about 3D environment art, but I was hoping any of you might know of a bachelors degree that is more in line with my career aspirations

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    There are very, very few game art uni programs in the world that are worth the time and money. And even then, it still boils down to what the student puts into it and how much drive they have to research and experiment outside of established course work. You're better off getting a non game art bachelors purely as a tool for visa and to broaden yourself (something to fall back on too if this doesn't work out). Meanwhile focusing on your game art education through self teaching, online courses (CGMA for example), mentorships and getting involved in 3D art discord communities that push discussion and art challenges.
  • WarriorN2000
    There are very, very few game art uni programs in the world that are worth the time and money. And even then, it still boils down to what the student puts into it and how much drive they have to research and experiment outside of established course work.
    Yea, I have heard this from quite a few people, to the point were I am kind of considering maybe dropping out and dedicating as much time as possible to my own personal projects, maybe pursuing courses on CGMA like you said. I guess I am a little apprehensive since I have pretty much had it hammered into me that I need to get a bachelors.
  • Taylor Brown
  • WarriorN2000