Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] First time sculpting stylized rocks, looking for feedback!

Alan314
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Alan314 polycounter lvl 2
Hey everyone, this is my first time working on stylized assets, really going for a Warcraft kind of feel, I'd appreciate any feedback!

Replies

• InvaderRoxas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    InvaderRoxas polycounter lvl 4
    Hey there, this is a nice start! I think what could help you the most is having a good balance of hard edges and soft spots. At the moment, I think your overall shape language feels a little soft, so while the details tell me rock, the silhouette of the rock itself seems more like a blob. I think some nice cracks could help too, as I'm not seeing too many of those. I do really like how you have these edges that are pushing with strong highlights, that is really carrying the stylized look for me!
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Before worrying about stylization, try sculpting rocks based on real world references. You should always try to understand the source materials basic forms / shape language before trying to bend or break the rules (ie. 'stylize' them).
  • Alan314
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey there, this is a nice start! I think what could help you the most is having a good balance of hard edges and soft spots. At the moment, I think your overall shape language feels a little soft, so while the details tell me rock, the silhouette of the rock itself seems more like a blob. I think some nice cracks could help too, as I'm not seeing too many of those. I do really like how you have these edges that are pushing with strong highlights, that is really carrying the stylized look for me!