Home Career & Education

How should I move forward to improve?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Zanmato polycounter lvl 6
Hello everyone! Something's been bugging me since the start of the year, I feel like I'm getting nowhere as an aspiring 3D artist, specializing in environment. My ever dream is to work in the video game industry as a 3D environment artist, I mostly do stylized art as it's the one that really fascinates me.

Just a short story, I applied as a 3D game artist for the first time at a local studio last year, which I got rejected (I haven't heard from them after the art test so I assumed it was rejected). I realized that maybe I still have a lot of things to learn (which I believe I really do). I only started to really put in real effort last year, posted some of my personal works in ArtStation.

At this point, to be honest, I don't know how should I improve my works. I feel like there's so much to learn, but I feel I've been jumping here and there on the things I want to improve. I would really appreciate some guidance on what I should be focusing on, what things I should improve and study. 

For reference, here's my portfolio link: https://www.artstation.com/selch

Replies

• Zi0
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter
    You need to improve and push yourself a bit more, right now your portfolio is too basic, stuff like a cutlass wont cut it. IMO the witch cauldron has potential if it was placed in a little environment. Take a look at what other stylized environment artist made in order to get a job, here is one example https://www.artstation.com/artwork/xNazm

• Zanmato
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 said: