Home Career & Education

Pre-Industry Artist (help!)

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hey guys. If you would be so kind, I need some advice. So recently after doing some self-search, I figure that I want to be working in the game industry. I'm totally new to this thing, I don't know much about a good position that's right for me as an artist. I used to do realistic portrait study for fan arts but that was just it. It didn't score me a job. So since I'm currently still searching for what's right for me; texture artist, environment, character artist, I might just go with 2D artist which is more general (?). I have prop designs, 2D texture, character design, paint over in my portfolio. I think I'll start by applying for works in an indie game industries overseas. I also watch videos in Artstation about career and advice. What's your opinion about this? I'm still new to this community and have no connections to other game artists who can give me advice, so maybe posting here is a start. Thank you!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Show us your portfolio.  We can't make a judgment call about what you're good at without a portfolio.

• Ripples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message