Home Marmoset

Bake turned out wrong in Marmoset

So, I'm very new to uving complex objects and baking in marmoset. I have been working on the uvs for a week, making sure they were straight and that the textures were in 2k but the bake still turned out wrong. It looks like it has artifacts in certain places and very pixelated up close. I do have some bars that are very large compared to the rest of the objects and I was making sure everything had the same texel density so could it be that the rest of the stuff turned out too low res? I honestly don't know what went wrong, I have been trying to fix any problems but it still turned out wrong. I'm so desperate at this point, I don't know if I can even solve this. 

Replies

• Joopson
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    Can you post a shot of the issue? Either just the texture, the texture on the mesh, or both?

It's hard to troubleshoot without a visual aid
  • wandering_snail

Thank you! Here they are, I don´t know if I should send the uvs as well. I am afraid I might have done something terribly wrong with them but I was sure they´d be fine this time...
  • Joopson
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    The UVs could be useful, or the normal map itself, but barring that, I have a theory.

I think it comes down to:

- low resolution bake (I think mostly because of inefficient UV use. You could texture one (or if you neeed, 3 or 4) chain link(s), and save a lot of space)

- cage offset is too high (but really, you should "explode" the chains (I can see nearby chain links showing up in the normal map of any given chain link.), or use baking groups)

There could be other factors, but those are for sure a big part of the troubles.
  • EarthQuake
    Yeah you could split the chains into two separate bake groups, alternate every other link in the chain, then you won't get those intersection errors. You could probably use bake groups in a few other spots too.
  • wandering_snail