Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student looking for critique on final project for school

Little background, I'm in a program for studying 3d production and interactive media. Its a super generalist 2 year curriculum, as a result I feel like I have a lot of general fundamental knowledge, but never had the chance to drill too deep into learning anything at a professional level. Basically, Im an amateur about to finish school *nervous laughter* I really want to use this project to refine my skills and make something I'm proud of, in the past I've improved most when I've had a lot of amazing skilled people telling me why my shit sucks lmao.

Anyways, onto the project. Right now I'm developing the character which will later be rigged and animated. These were my initial concept sketches:

I feel comfortable conceptualizing characters through drawing, but when it comes to translating it into 3d I'm full of doubt. Its in a pretty rough state right now but here's a sculpt that im working on.

It's quite sloppy and unrefined, the eyes and ears need to be solved still, but any thoughts are appreciated. I'm no stranger to criticism either so go ham.

My concerns right now are being confident in his proportions and volumes so I can use this base to generate clean models. The face i think needs some contrast in planar vs rounded surfaces, but Im not sure. I was thinking of putting some harder edges in his cheekbones and nose bridge.

I'm also curious on peoples recommendations for building an outfit. I want this to look as professional as I can but I need to keep my time constraints in mind, this is a 3 minute short Im producing so I need to be efficient. I went to my teacher talking about marvelous designer and ncloths (I have very little to no experience using either of these) and she recommended building the clothes in maya and just faking folds with driven keys and other methods. Apparently other students have had issues running simulations when it comes time to render.