Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Feedback

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
SopheeJay polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone  :)

I'm a current Game Art student in my second year of study at university, and I'm currently looking for a placement year in the industry,
meaning I've been working on my portfolio for applications, but I'm lacking outside views and honest opinions!

Portfolio Preview

So if anyone would be willing to give me some quick feedback, advice or critique on my presentation or content it'd be greatly appreciated!  =)

Here's my portfolio link:
https://sopheejay.artstation.com/

Replies

• Larry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator
    Hi, I'll tell you my honest opinion. I find that your portfolio in general shows that you have an eye for detail, you just need to polish some things. I'll go over your artworks individually, it might sound a bit brutal at some points but it's just to raise your bar higher and have a realistic view of how things are.

Komoreby is nice, The UI is nice, I would probably exaggerate the jagged circles around the character's eyes, or overall , as this is the unique thing about it, and gives a nice contrast with the peaceful style it has. The environment is also good but the layout is not "in-game" , it's more like intro menu, due to how you placed those plants. For this artwork everything is more personal preference than a critique,and I don't have any expertise in this area, but for me, good job there.

Castaway island: I like that it tells a small story. But you have to learn about lighting if you want to showcase something in 3d. The fireplace in the middle looks like it's floating in the water and the material proportions don't feel like they have the correct scale. It's something that everybody does at the early stages of their artistic career. If I were you I would take this scene again and spend a week to light it properly and fix the material tiling.