Home Career & Education

UK Game Industry Student Placements

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
SopheeJay polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone :)

I'm in my second year of studying Game Art at university and I have the opportunity to do a placement year in industry.
Unfortunately I've had no luck after a month of checking job sites, advertisements and studio websites, as well as my own universities Placement recourses and emailing individual companies myself to enquire about possible placement opportunities!

So far I've only gathered the following:
  • Rare - advertisements are usually put out in December
  • Sumo Digital - they may start advertising in November?
  • Climax Studios - has been said to keep an eye on their socials for any updates
Studios I confirmed that offer no placements, only work experience, only graduate schemes or are in the wrong area of study:
  • Ubisoft
  • Playground Games
  • Rare
  • Creative Assembly
  • Rocksteady
  • TT Games
  • Splash Damage
  • Frontier
  • Firesprite
  • Two Point Studios
  • Coatsink
So I'm wondering if anyone has any tips or experience with finding student placements?
I realise they're quite Rare (haha funny) but I'm really set on doing a placement and I believe I have the skills to be accepted!

TLDR: does anyone know of any game studios offering student placements in the UK?

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    How does a placement year differ from an internship?

• SopheeJay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @poopipe Placements last for a year, so count as a 'sandwich' year/extra year of university, whereas internships are usually a lot shorter, also placement years are also paid, but not all internships are.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    I see,

I suspect it's a case of unfortunate timing more than anything else .