Home Unreal Engine

Ue4 - Terrain Mesh Normal Blending with Virtual Textures Guide!

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
squash polycounter lvl 3
Hey its my first post here. Hope this guide will help yall !
Couple of months ago when i started playing with Ue4 i was obsessed with terrain mesh blending. So i started searching but couldnt find any tutorial on how to do it. After some search time and experimenting i finally found a solution. It was already there but i couldnt get it to work properly. Since i found how to do it, im sharing it.
I used Unreal Engine 4.24 for this guide. For fastest testing i only used base color and normal map textures for both landscape and meshes. And constant 1 roughness. Since this method uses runtime virtual textures, at certain angles textures will stretch. Thats the downside of this method. I think it can be fixed with tri planar textures if you need to.

First let me show you how it looks. Lit, unlit and world normal.

1-)  First of all i enabled virtual texture and mesh distance fields from project settings. Neither of them are necessary but its the convenient way to do it. Distance field will mask closest meshes. It can be done with vertex color painting instead, which is perfectly fine and more optimized. Virtual texturing is for sampling normals and textures of terrain to blend. Optionally render target 2d can be used instead but i dont recommend it.

2-)  Next, i created a runtime virtual texture (You can tweak its values for higher res textures). Than i selected my landscape and choose my virtual texture from details panel. Than i added a runtime virtual texture volume to my leve. I selected my landscape from details panel and copied rotation and scale and selected my runtime virtual texture.