Home Career & Education

Moving abroad to persue career

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Frankythebeast polycounter lvl 4
Hello , its Hamza here from Pakistan , there's something that was in my mind from some time now and I'm finally using this platform to clear some things out.
My question is I don't have art relevant degree (I have done bachelors in Computer Science) but I started learning 3d from YouTube and Udemy and got a job here as a 3d artist in mobile games company but I want to work abroad (Canada, UK, Germany etc.) working in PC games since there is not any company here that make PC games , and I have heard that to work abroad I need a degree( I have one but not related to art ) , so I wanted to ask if I take some CGMA courses and become good enough will it work out ? will studying at CGMA be considered as a degree and can it help in working abroad if I don't have my bachelors in Art related field ?
Here's my ArtStation profile : https://www.artstation.com/hamzariaz3d 

Replies

• Zi0
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter
    It depends what part of the world you are aiming for, USA has different rules then the EU. Some countries don't care at all, it is something you will need to research. I would say that your current portfolio is too weak to get a job abroad.
  • Frankythebeast
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for your answer and
    yes im aware of it that my portfolio is weak , i am working on it :) 
  • sharsein
    Offline / Send Message
    sharsein polycounter lvl 9
    If you complete a CGMA course you will learn a lot and get a portfolio piece. But you'll still need to do the work to make more portfolio pieces of that same quality or better. Also with covid 19 international travel is more complicated than usual.