Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Can you give me feedbacks ?

Hi everyone ! Thank you to click !
I'm a student and I want to be a Junior Environment Artist for Video Games and I wanted to know "How good" my portfolio is at this moment.

I don't know if I'm far to be a Junior Environment Artist or if I have to work a lot more to have the required skills.

Thank you ! And please destroy me in the comments !

Replies

• JamesBrisnehan
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesBrisnehan polycounter
    The sewer is pretty good. I especially like the lighting. There are a couple of things that look off to me though. First, the large scale brick texture of the rib arches seem at odds with the small scale bricks of the tunnel walls. Second, the loose bricks on the floor look out of place without any holes, cracks, or collapsed sections in the tunnel walls. Like, where did the bricks come from, why are they there?

Also (and this might be just personal taste), the sewer scene feels like it needs something extra to make it more interesting and really bring it to life. I'm not sure what though. Maybe a story element, maybe a focal point, maybe even mixing in elements of a completely different kind of environment, almost like kit-bashing. The geek in me would love to see a shanty town down there like in Futurama, but I'll let you decide what to add (if anything).
  • Semperfoo
    Offline / Send Message
    Semperfoo polycounter lvl 2
    Hey, Dave! An instructor told me once that "your portfolio should tell people who you are".

Then maybe you want to add some more pieces in order to show more specifically which kind of artist you are. I mean, if you want to be a environment artist, then include more diferent environments. If want to be a prop artist, show what types of objects you can model (weapons, armors, vehicles, tech devices, even some food maybe). Or if you're a generalist you could show more of what you can make.