Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Star Citizen - Art Test

Maxpath
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Maxpath polycounter lvl 2
Just completed an Art Test to work on Star Citizen, here in Montreal. Any critique is greatly appreciated!

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/18b1mZ

Replies

• vavavoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vavavoom polycounter lvl 11
    Detail and design looks good.

I'm not a props/environment artist but I think what's letting it down is the lighting/texturing. It's all very 'noisy' to look at.

The thing that is distracting the most is the white lighting coming from the piping. It seems too strong perhaps and is giving the whole scene a blown out look.

Have you experimented with toning it down and adding some ambient lighting to the scene?  It might help it look less noisy and easier on the eyes.

good luck with your test :)
  • DavidCruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DavidCruz interpolator
    You allowed to publicly display this test? i haven't looked into it just helping if you are not thread should be deleted, so you know you can still land the job.(probably too late tbh.)
    Otherwise neat job, feel the forward facing view has almost blinding brightness ^ voom mentioned it also, i didn't read their post before commenting this so its good to see two strangers see the same thing.