Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Conan's start

Hello all, my name is Conan.  I'm a recent college graduate looking to get into the video game industry doing concept art for characters.  My dream is to one day create and develop my own video game. After some research (interviews, networking, and just looking online) I realize that I have a lot of work to do.  Seeing and reading about some others here on poly count has emboldened me to take the next step; get critiques, something I dearly miss from my college classes.  I would greatly appreciate any and all feedback, critique, tips and tricks.  
Thank you in advance!

Replies

• Alchemical
    Offline / Send Message
    Alchemical polycounter lvl 6
    Hey man, welcome!

You've got some cool and original designs for your first post. Vivid colours and plenty of ideas contained within. However, to me they are very hard to read and understand. You've taken these into maximum overdrive which in turn makes it harder to make out their design. The colour and amount of details strain my eyes. The least offenders to this is the marine-looking fella and our beast to the right.

Don't know if this is common in your work and admittedly I am at a disadvantage in that I don't know what these designs are for and where they fit in; but I hope those pointers are of use to you.

In regards to where you want to go: What is your plan? Where do you want to take your design-work specifically? Set up what you want to achieve, plan backwards from there until you move ahead. This is no road I've seen the end of but I find doing this has kept me on track so far and helped me get quickly back in after any set-backs. I'm sure you will recieve a lot of sound advice on getting your foot in the door from the others.

Looking forward to seeing more!
  • Cobarbaro
    Hey Alchemical,