Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Aelfyn's 2D Art Thread - Critiques Welcomed!

triangle
Offline / Send Message
aelfyn triangle
Hello all! 

I suppose now would be a good time to introduce myself and give you a bit of background with my experience in 2D art. Drawing has been a hobby of mine my entire life and something that I am very passionate about. Aside from the few art classes I took throughout my elementary and high school years, I am mostly self taught. 

I've dabbled in digital art the last few years, but recently decided it's time for me to get a bit more serious and REALLY learn how to draw. So here I am--ready for your feedback, constructive criticism, and critique. This thread will serve as a space for me to share my ongoing projects in hopes that through your advice and knowledge, I can improve my skills! Thanks in advance.

~Aelfyn 

P.S. If you're interested in following me on social media, click the links below:
https://www.artstation.com/aelfyn
https://www.instagram.com/aelfyn.art/ 
https://twitter.com/aelfyn_art

Replies

• aelfyn
    Offline / Send Message
    aelfyn triangle
    I recently finished a profile piece inspired by an Elder Scrolls Online character. She has several looks, which you can see below. 

I was having issues painting the last look, where she is wearing a veil made of harpy talons. The talons look a bit off, almost as if they are popping off the page. I tried repainting and adjusting them, but to no avail. Perhaps my lighting is off? 

Any critique on the drawing as a whole would be greatly appreciated!

• birb
    Offline / Send Message
    birb interpolator
    Welcome. You're off to a good start here!

Answering your question:
    The talons look a bit off, almost as if they are popping off the page. I tried repainting and adjusting them, but to no avail. Perhaps my lighting is off?