Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Christopher Strachan (Phroxir)

node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
phroxir node
Hello Polycount! Quick introduction and then diving right into this: My name is Christopher Strachan and I have been a motion graphics artist for a couple of years now. While it's been fun and pays the bills, the reason I learned 3D originally was to get into Environment Art for film/game. Now that I've finally gotten a sense of stability and a skill set, figured I'd start chipping away at this. Any critiques or comments on workflow and design are highly appreciated! I understand most of the 3D world from a pre-rendered perspective and am still learning about the real-time work environments. You will see Motion Graphics, Environment Art and VFX here. Thanks for stopping by, LET'S GOOO! 🌱

Replies

• phroxir
    Offline / Send Message
    phroxir node

ENVIRONMENT ART MENTORSHIP 2020:

For the rest of 2020 my main focus will be completing an Environment Art Mentorship. Goal is to have two scenes completed by EOY. Starting on the first scene: An exterior landscape featuring a waterfall main set piece and various architectural elements in the style of ancient civilizations. The story will be a young, new (hunter-gatherer) civilization discovers the ruins of an older, more advanced (agricultural) civilization. Main takeaways will be an animated cinematic and a series of props and building models, something I have precious little experience at the moment. Here is my initial moodboard - Arches, pots, stone and wood buildings, water features and plants. Lots of goddamn plants.
  • phroxir
    Offline / Send Message
    phroxir node