Home Career & Education

Critique and Career Advice

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Mr_Nova polycounter lvl 4
Hello, I believe this is my second post on here but I think it's important I get insight from professionals (or people with relevant experience in the industry) on how I could maybe improve my path to getting my foot in the door in the industry, primarily being a 3D artist in game development.
Furthermore just how my portfolio looks? how it's presented, what can I do to improve on? so on... 

I'm a junior student in Digital Media Arts,  I haven't really been taught anything to a high level from my school so most of my learning is from my partner who is basically my mentor and on top of school i'm doing personal work for my portfolio. Currently, I'm learning and further improving my 3D modeling skills, I've been practicing sculpting in ZBrush and learning forms, alongside human anatomy and sculpting a full human skeleton in my own time (because my school doesn't teach me anything about this stuff, which is really sad but I can't do too much about it except rely on myself.) I've applied to be an 3D Artist intern at a couple of places but I haven't been accepted to anywhere currently, but that doesn't bother me, just means keep improving and building my work and apply again later. The lack of feedback from places denying me just makes me wonder what i'm missing or need work on (I don't have a big portfolio, I understand that) but any feedback would help out a lot because all I want is to improve and be better overall for it. 

Thank you in advance, I look forward to any feedback I get.

Portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/dmpickle

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter