Home Technical Talk

Edge loops running through mesh

DiamondDog
node
Im fairly new to modelling and now i am starting to question my workflow. I am always trying to model in only quads using edge loops. Thats way when i try to add some detail to certain part of the mesh i create an edge loop that runs through entire mesh and creates a lot of new vertices even in places when its not needed.
I am just looking for advice: Is that ok way to model?  Or do i need to change something?
Thanks in advance and excuse me for mistakes: im not a native speaker

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    It's fine to work like that but before exporting the final asset to game you want to remove anything that doesn't directly contribute to the shape or UVs
  • DiamondDog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DiamondDog node
    I was thinking about that. So i need to optimize it, that means that ngons are ok?
  • FrankPolygon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FrankPolygon grand marshal polycounter
    @DiamondDog The answer is it depends. Is there a workflow specific technical limitation or requirement for all quad grid topology?

If this type of topology isn't a hard technical requirement then the answer is: Yes, there are more efficient topology layouts and modeling strategies. Leaving extra geometry (that's a byproduct of modeling with automated tools) in a working mesh is one thing but manually adding in all of that extra geometry is something that should be avoided. Flat areas are arguably the lest effected by topology changes. There's minimal benefit to extending edge loops across flats and in most cases this will only complicate things and slow down any edits that need to be made in the future.