Home Technical Talk

[SOLVED] How to key layered material alpha? (Maya)

jod13
triangle
Offline / Send Message
jod13 triangle
Sorry in advance for something that likely is, and certainly should be, simple, but I'm new to and a total noob at animation. 
I've got a layered material in Maya 2019 (a lambert, if it helps) with 2 alpha attributes. 0.000 is texture 1, and 1.000 is texture 2. If I drag the slider, it swaps between them. Which is great! But what I need to do is set a key on this so that before frame A, texture 1 is visible, and after frame B, texture 2 is visible. In all the tutorials I've found, most of which are from 2013, you can key the color attribute. However, I can't. I can right click > set key, but doesn't set multiple keys (if I set it to 1.000, aka texture 2, the ENTIRE animation ALWAYS sees texture 2, regardless of previously making a key with the 0.000/texture 1 visible, and if I set texture 1 again, it erases the visibility of texture 2.... and so on) and there are absolutely no keyframes visible on the timeline (though the slider does highlight red as if it's keyframed). Is there another way to do this? Or something I'm missing? I couldn't use a blend node or find any modern documentation on blend nodes in the hypershade editor, so this is the only way I've found to make it work.

I'll post an image as well. If I didn't explain something well, I can clarify, I just can't find anything online covering this specific thing (that isn't completely outdated and functions differently, anyway). Thank you!

Replies

• jod13
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jod13 triangle

Passing along the solution that worked for me based on conversation with Marko S, an Autodesk employee that was able to help me through this whole thing.