Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A critique for a critique ( Portfolio reviews )

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
vonboe polycounter lvl 12
Hi,

After 6 years in the Japanese games industry I'm trying to branch out to the western market, but haven't had much luck as of yet.
To better myself, I could really use some critique and comments about my work and overall portfolio.

But Instead of just asking for something, I thought I would return the favor.
So if you are looking for some critique/comments about your work and portfolio, I you take the time to look-through your work if you want.
And hopefully I can provide some constructive criticisms/points you can use to improve your work :) 

Portfolio Like

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts :)  

Replies

• Bonkers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm a noob in 3D modelling and all I can say on your portfolio is great job! Are characters your main work or do you have something else? Anyways your portfolio looks great. Good luck on finding that branch to the western market dude. :)
  • fdfxd2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fdfxd2 interpolator
    Yikes, if you're having trouble finding a job in the western market, what does that mean for the rest of us?
  • jStins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jStins interpolator
    Indeed, I'm not a character artist, but your work reads as quite good to me. The only thing I can think of is maybe some editing? Cayline and Grand Commander don't seem up to your current skill level at a glance. Good luck!
  • bkost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bkost interpolator
    HI Vonboe,

There are several factors I believe that are playing against you in getting your footing into the western market. Location, Breakdowns, and Aim/Presentation.

--It's less of a hassle to hire a potential employee if they are in your country. If you can, get some sort of visa and get to the country with the studios you wish to work for.