Home Technical Talk

Best 3d modelling software for Sketchup and AutoCAD lover

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello all,
I am starting to learn game design and am looking to model some fairly angular, usually static, 3d objects, probably for use on the Unity engine. I am not an artist so I'll stick to indie game style assets like buildings and street scene objects to start with, something like the assets in Cities Skylines.
I have used AutoCAD for my work for many years and love the precision and interface but I don't own a personal copy.
I have used SketchUp for fun and love its simplicity, intuitiveness and appearance.
I used Revit at college and was impressed by the final result but wasn't enamoured with the process
I have tried modelling in Blender but it seems overkill for what I need and I don't like the lack of precision (perhaps just the way I'm using it though). I think I am mathematically inclined rather than artistic.
My questions:
1. Is there anything wrong with creating assets in SketchUp and exporting to .fbx file format?
2. Can anyone recommend a software like Sketchup or AutoCad that might be better suited to the task? Even better if its free as SketchUp is not quite free.
Thanks

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    TameAim said:
    1. Is there anything wrong with creating assets in SketchUp and exporting to .fbx file format?
    No idea what this means?

Now if you're on a budget, then I'd advise taking another look at Blender. There's a number of 'CAD' like tools available both embedded or third party:

...or try FreeCAD
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SketchUp is a bit notorious in both archviz and gamedev worlds, for generating terrible meshes. Duplicate vertices, bad normals, etc.

Blender is indeed worth another look.

However you may also prefer the halfway-CAD workflow of 3ds Max; worth a serious look.
  • TameAim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message