Home General Discussion

Is Blender taking over the 3D industry?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm a bit worried about blender taking over the 3D modeling industry. I myself used Blender 2.79 when I started learning 3D but then, due to the gaming studios using Maya, I switched to it (I had another reason to switch as blender before V2.80, was not that popular)I've been using Maya for over 1.5 years now and since I stopped using Blender, It got tons of updates and is slowly getting very popular among 3D artists, especially modelers.
So I wonder , in future years, Will studios switch to blender from Maya? (I know it's a dumb question but I sometimes think about it much)
What you guys think?

Replies

• oglu
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    If you ask me its taking over modeling departments. But other tools wont go away. There is a lot pipeline stuff coming in the next years. Everything around Maya and Houdini based on USD.

Im sure some Studios are doing the same with Blender. Its not that hard to switch to Blender if needed. Just use what gets the Job done. 
  • PolyHertz
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Maya is still king when it comes to animation, while ZBrush, Substance Painter, and Marvelous Designer aren't going anywhere anytime soon. I do think 3DSMax is in quite a bit more danger though, as Blender is able to almost directly compete with its modeling tools and modifier stack, which are the main things that have kept it popular all these years.
  • zachagreg
    Offline / Send Message
    zachagreg ngon master