Home Career & Education

3D character art - "where" to study

AlysonK
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
AlysonK polycounter lvl 3
Hello,

I am sorta of a beginner / intermediate character artist and I really wanted to study on something that would improve my skills.

I studied for 3 years on a videogame course, and honestly it was...really not good. There weren't a lot of options in my country (Portugal), and it was a very "experimental" course at the time (it was like the 2nd year of its existence, the structure was terrible with some really awful teachers, it's much better now, but still), and I feel that I learned almost nothing that I wanted, most of what I learned was really online from YouTube videos. I kind of did not do a lot of research before going (I was very naive at the time, so I just rushed at whatever seemed the most interesting), so now I am VERY reluctant on choosing where to learn more.

From the research I did, I found that the best choice considering my budget would be the "Universal Arts School" in Spain, Valencia, they have a dual masters on sculpting extreme and videogame arts, but I really don't want to to through the situacion I already went through, so I am unsure if that would be the best choice. Studying physically at an university would be my preference, but since I can't study at the best schools (since they are REALLY expensive), I looked around at some online courses.

CG Spectrum seems to be very highgly regarded as having some of the best courses online, with cgmasteracademy seeming to also being a good alternative, having its' modules more seperate. I can afford these websites for like a course or two, even though they can be quite expensive (but really not as much as going to a physical university).