Home Technical Talk

[Maya] Need help with toggle script for Bevel tool

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Bodizzz polycounter lvl 9
Hello!
I decided to create script to toggle between Bevel parameters. It should work like this: you press a hotkey and it launch Bevel tool, then, when the tool is active, you can press the same hotkey and toggle between parameteres like fraction, segment, chamfer, etc. I wrote some code as you can see on the GIF below, but i'm new to MEL, so i dont really know how to make script run with a one hotkey. I know that i should add a proc but i dont know how to do it properly and get errors every time. Maybe someone with good scripting skills can help me with that. 

I will include current code here.

if(!`dragAttrContext -ex "attrDrag"`)
    dragAttrContext "attrDrag";
string $toggle[];
int $cycle;

dragAttrContext -e -r "attrDrag";
setToolTo "attrDrag";

$toggle = `polyBevel3 -oaf 1 -fp 0 -o 0 -f 0.5 -sg 1 -d 1 -m 0 -ma 0 -c 1 -at 180 -sn 1 -mv 1 -mvt 0 -sa 30 -ch 1`;

if(`currentCtx` != "attrDrag")
    $cycle= 0;  
   switch($cycle){
        case 0:
            dragAttrContext -e -ct ($toggle[0] + ".f") "attrDrag";
            break;
        case 1:
            dragAttrContext -e -ct ($toggle[0] + ".sg") "attrDrag";
            break;
        case 2:
            dragAttrContext -e -ct ($toggle[0] + ".c") "attrDrag";
            break;    
        default:
            dragAttrContext -e -ct ($toggle[0] + ".f") "attrDrag";
            $cycle= 0;
            break;
    }
   $cycle++;

Thanks!

Replies

• Fwap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fwap polycounter lvl 13
    Theres a modifier flag with draggercontext that lets you query if certain modifiers are being pressed.
    The documentation will say between ctrl and alt, but from what i've experienced, its actually shift and ctrl, i think alt conflicts with other built in context tools, like marking menus.