Home Career & Education

Art resources bought but never used?

Has this happened to you? You find an ad while browsing the internet about digital painting and you quickly click it. Then, you're brought to the site that offers resources that say is "cheaper than any art college course" meaning it still costs money, but it won't be as expensive as college. You've purchased it, opened up the downloaded files and then realize that the material is either not making sense to you or it doesn't hold your attention. Money wasted on an art resource. So you try again with another one. You went down this route of paying for digital art tutorials because maybe it would be better to learn from them than the free ones. To be honest, free or paid, the materials of process of digital art, painting, or concept art still can't be comprehended.
  This is me. I have been drawing for 14 years, but my art does not look like it. I thought that free resources were not enough to help me understand. So I tried premium content, things like Art school for digital artists by cube brush and Digital Painting Academy over on Paintable. There were more paid resources that I tried and I just stopped using them. Maybe my motivation was not strong enough to just pick one resource and stick to it but instead, I felt each of these paid tutorials or programs were not helping me understand digital painting. To this day I have no idea why I still dont understand something as simple as blending in digital painting. Im trying not to buy anymore premium content and also dont want to pay to be a patron of artists when i can just learn it myself. But even then...I can't really self teach myself long enough to be distracted or disappointed.
 But after calculating up the amount I spent, it was up to a thousand of dollars on it. Not good but I don't know what else to do.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Welcome to Polycount!

It does sound like you may have a motivation problem. See Motivation is Bull.