Home Career & Education

Advice to Improve my 3D Character Art Portfolio

I am aware that in order to enter the video game industry as a 3D character artist, the characters of your creation must be of paramount quality. I am familiar with the game art pipeline from sculpting, retypologizing, UV unwrapping, texturing, and rigging; all I need to do now is make my work better. This is my portfolio so far: https://www.artstation.com/the_obscure_official

The characters I have now is the latest batch of characters I created that replaced older works that were of less quality, I will work on new characters soon as my practice improved my craft. I do have one particular technical question, how would you go about to create photorealistic textures? 

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    I'm not a character artist but this will still apply.

The only way to get better is through practice. You seem to have a basic understanding of some the fundamentals which is a good place to be because now you can start leveling up each area and it won't be such a mystery. Definitely need to start studying anatomy, I see it recommended quite often to pick up some life drawing to build a better understanding of form. Also, don't be afraid to separare your meshes... For example the belt on that soldier is half melted into the jacket. That ain't right. Your UVing could be far more optimized but that can come later after you get a better understanding of making a quality high poly.

For textures (and really any part of the pipeline), you need tons of ref. With time your artistic eye will develop and it will get easier (and faster) to hit the look you're going for but never stop using ref.

It might not align with what you want to be but id recommend producing one really top notch prop asset just to hone in on all the steps of asset creation for games. It will help you in the long run.

• Zi0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message