Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First head sculpt — Any Feedback?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
beis polycounter lvl 5
Hello!

I am working on making a head bust for my 2 year old son. This is my first time trying to create a finalized sculpt from ZBrush, texturing a human in Painter, using XGen for a groom, etc. here is a screenshot of my current render:

This being my first time making a human, there’s already a lot that I would change next time. (Thankfully, 2 year olds are pretty easy going — as long as it has eyes, ears, mouth and nose, they’re fine with it, haha). 

Any recommendations on what I should focus on to polish here, or what isn’t working right now?

Replies

• beis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beis polycounter lvl 5
    I’ve spent a little bit more time working on this, and I think I would to move on. There’s still plenty that I would want to clean up, like the hair/grooming, the skin, etc. — but I’ve lost my motivation to go further, and I’ve already got what I think I wanted to learn from it. 

Any other feedback would still be appreciated! :)

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Show us your reference photos you were using of your son.

This is off, but I don't know what what it's off relative to.

Biggest thing missing is the philtrum underneath the nose.
  • JamesBrisnehan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesBrisnehan polycounter
    Hmm. . . well, It's um, a starting place.