Home Career & Education

Anyone new / just starting want to get together?

Hiya, I'm new to this whole scene. Like, really new.
I work a boring office job and I'm looking to get into 3D art, i figured it would be easier to learn if I had someone to work with and keep me accountable. 

I think it's too early for me to start looking for a mentor as I'm literally starting from zero.
I figure if even two of us can tall regularly on discord or such, show each other tutorials or anything else weve find that's interesting and give feedback it could speed up our development a lot. 

Anybody interested drop me a message and we can figure out the details.
I'm in London so anyone within my timezone is preferable, I'm usually free in the afternoons and weekends. 

Replies

• TheGabmeister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheGabmeister interpolator
    Try joining game jams in your location. That's how I started out getting to know people. The friends I met there eventually became my co-workers 2 years later.
  • UmiYao
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Try joining game jams in your location. That's how I started out getting to know people. The friends I met there eventually became my co-workers 2 years later.
    Thanks, It looks like there are a few coming up later this month, I didn't even realise this was a thing I could do.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    We're here.  Ask away.  75% of my pre professional education is Polycount.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter