Home Technical Talk

Z-Brush Beginner Question - Importing without Triangulation and just Quads?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
ChristheLancer97 polycounter lvl 4
Hello everyone, I am new to Zbrush as I just picked the trial version up today. I am wanting to import a model that I created from Blender as an FBX and into ZBrush so I can sculpt the model. However, whenever I land the model up on the scene, I get weird missing pieces in the model which I can only suspect are the N-Gons. This would lead me to having to triangulate the model, but here is what the model looks like when its subdivided up to level 3/4:

I get these weird creases around the skin like you can see in the image above. Is there any way to fix this besides having to manually smooth everything out? Because I think this is only caused by the triangulation of the model, even the wireframe looks a little strange to me:

I have also tried importing it as an OBJ but I get even more missing pieces of the model... Is there a way to upload models within Zbrush without having to remove the N-Gons, kinda like Mudbox does? Or a more efficient method to import models altogether? Thanks for your time!

Replies

• kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage