Home Technical Talk

Best workflow for variants? Need some insight

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Shrike interpolator
Hey guys

So Im making some vehicles and other stuff and I need a simple base car and some custom variants.
For the moment, what I did was make a base model, UV it, and then make 3 copies basically, and then added extra details in empty UV space I left beforehand, then baked them 4x for 4x final models. That is a destructive workflow however and Im not sure what I should do. Here a overview:

(These are not upgrades and do not change in runtime, it is 4 different cars basically)

If I found a solution for AO I could also go with a simpler workflow, but without baked AO for the details, quality just goes down drastically, especially when viewed from a distance which is important.

Also if I go with UV2 tricks for AO, I will double vertice count right? I have absolutely avoided UV2 so far, maybe that is a solution but I have no experience with it and will look that up a bit now. (Edit: whats happening with the polycount formatting?)

Anyone any ideas?

Replies

• icegodofhungary
    Offline / Send Message
    icegodofhungary interpolator
    I'm not very experienced but I can offer an opinion. Method 3 seems like the way to go. Drop AO maps for the macro-AO, that is the AO that would exist from the detail pieces being near the vehicle body. Let SSAO or whatever handle that. Just have per-mesh AO for the smaller details on each mesh.