Home Career & Education

Denied jobs because of location?

PaladinoDosBoliN
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
PaladinoDosBoliN polycounter lvl 4
Hey! I'm an Environment Artist From Brazil.

I've recently been denied a couple of positions abroad receiving the feedback that: "It's hard to sort out visas for Brazilians" or statements along those lines. Keep in mind some companies approached me and some answered my applications. 

That being said, I wanted to know: How hard is it for a company to sort out your work visa? How often do they do it? Has anyone faced the same issue?
Heres my portfolio, if it's relevant: www.artstation.com/andrefelipe

Replies

• slosh
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    Not sure if ur referring to a specific country but if its for the US, think of it this way.  A company has to spend extra money to hire you as opposed to someone in the states.  So you have to be REALLY worth it for them.  So while it does happen once in a while, its just easier and more cost effective to hire someone in the states.  
  • Biomag
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    Besides being easier it actually also might not be legally possible to get you a visa in your specific case. It depends on your education and work experience. So maybe after talking to you they realize that they won't be able to get you a visa.

...and there is lack of knowledge and incompetence as well. Not talking about you, but HRs. Sometimes they don't know the details of visa appliciations or as embarrassing as it might sound they don't know the details of who they are contacting.
  • tgm79
    Offline / Send Message
    tgm79 polycounter lvl 4
    This reminded me to check my Greed card entry status, aaand not selected. Check your status people, you have to do it yourself, nobody will call you. Also, this month - October - you can register for the 2021 lottery. Get that sweet visa, land the job!
  • defragger
    Offline / Send Message