Home Career & Education

Coming out of High School. Where/What to study? [Sydney Australia]

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
rexo12 interpolator
So it's University Application season down under, and I thought I'd just ask for some advice before submitting my preferences.

Reading through the material on this forum, the general consensus seems to be not to go to a University for an "Animation" or "Game Design" course, and instead hone and develop your skills through self-directed research (CGMA, etc.) and practice, alongside some more general tertiary study (or not). This has been my goal - and what I've been doing - for several years now alongside my secondary studies. I do however still have that anxiety that I'll be missing out on the opportunities and industry connections that a university can afford me. So, is this the right choice?

In terms of what I would study at Uni, a course I've been considering is a Media Arts + Computer Science double degree (https://artdesign.unsw.edu.au/future-students/undergraduate-degrees/media-arts-computer-science). I am iffy about the Media Arts degree, particularly how the 3D work is within a broader animation component - alongside 2D - and generally quite a small part of the course anyway, which I'm not terribly enthused by. However I think the Computer Science degree would be quite useful for me - particularly for Technical Art stuff which interests me quite a bit. Can anyone weigh in on how useful Media Arts will be, and whether it is worth my time?

Other than that, If any Australians here can tell me about their own pathways and experiences that would be great, or otherwise just general advice on where to go from here.

Thanks!

Replies

• JunkieKong
    Offline / Send Message
    JunkieKong greentooth