Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

"Hunt: Showdown"-Character [realtime] - Crytek

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
goekbenjamin polycounter lvl 5
Follow me on my Journey on creating my very own realtime character for "Hunter: Showdown"!

I love what Crytek
created with the game! Also, I like that they served the western-genre.
As an aspiring character artist, I am stunned by the characters they made for that game, so I decided I try to create my very own character which will fit in their Hunter-universe.

Any sort of feedback and or critique is highly appreciated!

I started on September 18, 2019, working on that character after my regular job, so the time I can spare is about 2-3 hours a day.

So join me on my adventure :D

Replies

• goekbenjamin
    Offline / Send Message
    I knew my character will be a male so I took my basement and polished/changed it a little bit.

Also, I knew that I will use Marvelous Designer for clothing, so what I do is:
    Rigging the basemesh, pose it in a "relaxed a-pose" inside of Maya, make an animation in which the basemesh is squatting to get the best/realistically folds/wrinkles for garments.

as you probably noticed I modeled som boots too while the basemesh was in a "default" a-pose
    (see next post for the boots)
  • goekbenjamin
    Offline / Send Message
    Boots:

As always, I try to find good references (Hint: to display and collect reference images I use "PureRef")

I modeled the base in Maya with the help of referencing those images, after that,
    I imported that in ZBrush and prepared it for further refinement

detailing the boots:

• goekbenjamin
    Offline / Send Message
    Garments:
    I created the pants and belt in MD and tested the simulation
    (Notice: particle distance was at "20" for that GIF, so no quality folds expected here :D )

Let's dance the "Hopak" ;)

And this is what it looked after trial and error to get the garments right (after simulating + animation):