Home Career & Education

Do 3D Artists need to be good at Substance Designer?

PastyPict
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
PastyPict polycounter lvl 4

I hope this is the right place to ask.

There is a bunch of different software for 3D Artists to learn and are advised to learn. As an aspiring game artist, I have learned 3DS Max, Blender, Photoshop, Substance Painter, ZBrush, Unity, UE4, briefly used Mudbox, Quixel, just recently started learning Maya, and intend to delve into Marvelous Designer soon.

Maybe I'm just whinging and being really precious, but I'd say that's a fair amount of software to learn for one role as is, and I recognise there is still more for me to learn in each software despite being able to get projects done at an intermediate level at least, but is Substance Designer a necessity for me as a 3D artist?

All materials in Substance Designer that I have made are all pretty crap when not being handheld by one of the courses I bought, and the node workflow for material authoring doesn't seem to play nice with my brain. I did get better after practicing for a while and I'm sure I'd continue to get better if I spend a lot more time with it, but trying to find time in the day outside of a day job to learn all the necessary software is difficult enough as it is. I'm sure most would agree that this is a field that's hard work and takes a lot of practice to become competent in.

I'm fine with using existing materials and blending them, and I've heard that some professionals tried Designer and stopped using it for the same reason and stick to either authoring their materials using more traditional methods like ZBrush and Photoshop/Substance Painter, or they use materials made by other people, like using Substance Source.
I've also seen jobs appearing for Material Artists, Substance Designer Material Authoring, or whatever.