Home Technical Talk

Low Poly to High Poly Methodology - Lost UVs?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
ChristheLancer97 polycounter lvl 4
Hi, I am relatively new to sculpting, so I need help with something here regarding lost UVs when I was in the progress of making a low poly to high poly character. These UVs got lost for the models which I subdivided to Level 3 (The character, Dress and Cape) and I only realised it when I took the high poly back to 3DS Max.

I created a low poly character model on 3DS Max, and put it into Mudbox for sculpting details. Here is the low poly for reference:

What I did was bring the chest out slightly using Grab tool and also bulge some of the thighs, stomach area and back of the character. I also included wrinkles and creases into the dress garment for details. Here is the high poly version:

My main problem arises here, its the fact that my premade UVs on 3DS Max got lost somewhere along the process of the high poly sculpting method for the character, the dress AND the Cape. I used basic bulging, sculpt and knife tools mostly and as you can see from comparison, the two dont differ much at all so does anybody have any idea how or why my UVs disappeared?

Like I said, I am new to sculpting so I dont have too much experience with it. Too summarise If someone could let me know:
A). On the ultimately better methodology from Low Poly to High Poly character modelling
B). If using certain tools in the 3D sculpting application causes the loss of Uvs to occur
C). If there is a way to get the UVs back on these high density models or if I have to either redo the sculpting with another method or redo peel seams on the high poly sculpts.

Thanks in advance! :)

Replies

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter