Home Career & Education

I need an advice in the beginning of my career

Greetings! I know most of you guys doing 3D here, but I don't know where else to ask this question.
I need some advice and a fresh look on my skills. 
I've been studying architecture at university and doing digital painting as hobby in free time but a year before I got my Master's diploma (I graduated a month ago) I understood that I don't want to pursue an architecture career. So now I want to get into game industry but I really unsure about what should I do with my portfolio, is my skill enough, or should I practice more (I'm not speaking about breaking right into AAA obviously, just some beginner job to pay my bills and get some experience). So basically I have a portfolio (mostly focused on environments) and I don't know what to do with it. I don't know is it good and I can apply for some jobs, or bad and I should work on it more (and if so, what should be my area of focus, what should I work on to improve)?  Where to seek for jobs (I live in Australia and afaik there are not many game art jobs here, so I'm thinking of freelance)? Is doing environment(background, etc) artworks enough or should I do all sorts of stuff including characters, creatures, etc. to be employable? I've been thinking of becoming some background artist, or environment concept artist, or doing some illustrations for card games but I'm not sure is my portfolio fits any of these positions.
I know some of there questions might sound dumb, but I was doing illustrations only for myself and never participated in art communities ( so I really don't know what the situation in this field is about. 
Here are some of my works. I will be very appreciated for your advises and thoughts about what should I do with my life.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter