Home Technical Talk

Some problem with topology

Hi, I am working on Scar - L, I wanted to ask about the topology of the acog sight. Here are the images.

Replies

• musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    What did you want to ask? If this is the high poly for a bake and the shading looks good and bevels aren't too tight then it's good.
  • sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Yeah, no artifacting going on there, so whatsup?
  • raza
    Actually I am new in modeling I was afraid about the topology and tris,
    Is tris are ok in high poly modeling?
    Thanks for your comments
  • Mark Dygert
    Yea they are totally ok as long as they don't screw something up. Generally quads are easier to work with because they give you rings and loops that make your life easier, as well as subdividing and smoothing cleanly. But there are times that triangles or n-gons will totally save the day and keep you from making monstrously hideous topology. 

Does the triangle break something? 
    • No: FUcK iT!    Do WhaTevEr...
    • Yes: Fix it. Maybe with more triangles, heh.
  • sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    Plus, essentially when generating hard surface assets, fine detail that presents a challenge too model 'in-situe' can typically be resolved by using 'floaters' (floating geometry) which you'll likely run into at some point working on this gun.
  • musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    @sacboi floaters are old-school, mate. :) Painter has much more control and is completely non-destructive for detailing.
  • raza
    Thanks for sharing great information.  =)
  • pior
    Online / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    On " floaters are old-school" :

For the sake of not spreading misinformation I'll have to be the naysayer here.