Home Technical Talk

How do I reset transformations after freezing them in Maya

apebit
node
Offline / Send Message
apebit node
So I have a problem, I managed to move my low poly model out of place and freeze transforms after, without realising that it would no longer overlap with the high poly. Now that I try to bake the normals in substance, it bakes it as if the mug was moved. Can someone please tell me how to fix this? is there a way for me to reset both the HP and LP to overlap each other perfectly again. What should I do when this sort of thing happens? Please help I'm really new to 3D and Maya.

Replies

• Andreicus
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreicus polycounter lvl 6
    First of all try the good old CTRL+Z, you never know.
    If it doesn't work:

Select the LP ---> select the HP ---> modify---> match transformations ---> match all transforms

Or simply move the pivot point of the LP to the center of the base of the mesh ---> snap it with the center of the base of the HP ---> transformations should be ok now ---> rotate the mesh until you match the HP again.
  • apebit
    Offline / Send Message
    apebit node
    Andreicus said:
    If it doesn't work:

Select the LP ---> select the HP ---> modify---> match transformations ---> match all transforms

Or simply move the pivot point of the LP to the center of the base of the mesh ---> snap it with the center of the base of the HP ---> transformations should be ok now ---> rotate the mesh until you match the HP again.
    Well if it was as easy as ctrl+z i wouldn't have wrote here :D

Match transforms doesn't work after freeze transforms, that's why I'm looking for other solutions.

It's not really possible to move the low poly to the middle vert of HP because it has millions of verts :D so manual overlapping isn't really an option + it's not perfect so the baking would most probably still be off :(

Still need a solution :(
  • m4dcow
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator